ASME Presents Ten Awards for Achievement in Petroleum Engineering

ASME Presents Ten Awards for Achievement in Petroleum Engineering Recognition Program Held at Offshore Technology Conference NEW YORK, May 11, 2016 – ASME (The American Society of Mechanical Engineers) has presented seven awards recognizing technical achievement and distinguished service in the field of petroleum engineering. Frank Adamek of General Electric received the 2016 Geoca Mechanical Engineering Achievement Award during a ceremony held recently at the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) in Houston. The Society also bestowed the 2016 Arthur Lubinski Award recognizing the best technical paper delivered during ASME-sponsored technical sessions at OTC. Flow Assurance Design Considerations for Umbilical Riser Base Gas Lift System, on which three engineers (Chris McDermott of BP America and Shirley Ike and Martin Braniff of Wood Group Kenny) collaborated, was honored. The company Aker Solutions won the 33rd Annual Woelfel Best Mechanical Engineering Award (BMEA) for its product, CL4 Subsea electric actuator, EL Drive®. The BMEA Innovation Award winner was Skoflo Industries, which presented a subsea back pressure regulator at OTC. Three BMEA Awards of Merit were presented to FMC Technologies for the Inline Electro-Coalescer, Halliburton for its Dash™ large bore electrohydraulic control module, and The Crosby Group for the company’s Easy-Loc V2™ shackle bolt securement system. Chris Bartlett of FMC Technologies won the 2016 Silver Patent Award. The 2016 honorees for the Ross Kastor Educator’s Award and Keith Thayer Exceptional Early Career Engineer Award were Raresh Pascali of the University of Houston and Hieu Tran of Universal Pegasus, respectively. The 2016 awards program was sponsored by the ASME Petroleum Division, which provides technical programming, networking events, continuing education and other services to engineers and other technical professionals in the oil and gas and related industries.